Notes · Research & Reflection

One month on – What have I learned?

  • Art is not about perfection or cleanliness.
  • Art is subjective.
  • The narrative is one of the strongest defining parts of any work.
  • Viewers will take different perspectives on the same piece.
  • Repeated viewings of a piece can influence viewers in different ways, dependent on their mood, life events and the atmosphere that the piece is viewed in.
  • Art is often a tool for making statements and telling stories.
  • Viewing a piece of work in isolation, or alongside other works can influence how the viewer perceives it.
  • Knowing about the artist, their life and background isn’t essential but can add to a viewer’s experience.
  • There is no ‘right and wrong’ in art. Rules can be made and broken. It is the context, thought and intent that is the defining matter.

IMG_20180226_094515.jpg

One thought on “One month on – What have I learned?

  1. It is so true, viewers have a different perspective looking at a single art. I keep saying this to my family when I am promoting and posted my brother’s painted prayers.

    Like

Leave a comment